Costa Rica Is on the Right Path to Marriage Equality

In my last two posts (here and here), I talked about why we chose Costa Rica as our new home.  I resigned my lucrative position as an pediatric hospitalist, uprooted my children from the only school they had ever known, sold our dream home, and moved to a developing country.  And last Friday something happened that made me so glad that I did.

Ironically, this “developing” country seems to be ahead of most of the United States when it comes to human rights and equality. They (sort of) just legalized gay marriage (accidentally!).  Click here for the full article.   Did you also notice that Costa Rica has a female president?  I love this place!

Aside from the humor or horror that legislature as iconic as this seems to have fallen through the political cracks, I am so proud that Presidente Laura Chinchilla has taken a stance on approving the legislature.  I have only been in this country three weeks, so by no means will I say that I understand its politics, but I wonder how truly “accidental” this was.  Based on what I read about Tico (local Costa Rican) culture, I am not surprised that marriage equality is going to be a reality here….most likely.  Tico culture tends to be accepting and open-minded.

If you disagree with my position on marriage equality, that is fine.  I respect others’ opinions.  As a mother and pediatrician and fierce liberal, I believe all families, regardless of their structure, color, religion, composition, or gender, are sacred and deserve respect and recognition.    So I am proud of President Chinchilla for her stance and of the lawmakers in Costa Rica who snuck this piece of legislature through.

Pura Vida!

About Noemi Gamel

Noemi Gamel is a physician who prefers writing diverse children's fantasy stories instead of medical charts. She is a geeky nomad, too.
This entry was posted in Political and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

