Costa Rican Picadillo: Taking advantage of the bounty from the Feria de Agricultor

We are on vacation this week!  So my blog posts are going to be rather short.

One of the things I love about living in Monteverde/Santa Elena is the farmer’s market, or “Feria de Agricultor” that happens every Saturday.  It is a foodie’s dream come true.  I have spent about $20-25 USD for all my produce for the week at the Feria.  The best part of course is that it is all local produce and mostly organic.  The gentleman from whom I buy tomatoes says he only uses garlic and cornstarch to kill bugs. He doesn’t use pesticides.  The fruits and vegetables here taste delicious!  This is the first dish I made after my first trip to la Feria.  It is my take on a local favorite.

**DISCLAIMER:  I am not a chef.  I dont usually measure when I cook and I usually add my liquids (for example the milk or broth below) and salt based on approximations and taste. The times are also approximations and you should keep an eye on the pan constantly.**

PICADILLO

Ingredients:

2 small onions (peeled and finely chopped)

4 potatoes (peeled and cubed)

1 head of cauliflower (cut into florets)

2 carrots (peeled and cubed)

2 cups of milk or vegetable broth (to make it a vegan version)

Extra-virgen olive oil

Salt and pepper to taste

Instructions:

1) In a large frying pan, heat the olive oil.

2)  Add the onion and cook for about 2 minutes, until translucent.

3)  Add the potatoes and sauté for about 5 minutes, while stirring frequently.

4)  Add the carrots and cauliflower.  Sauté for about 3-4 minutes until softened.

5)  Add the milk or broth.

6)  Heat to boiling, then simmer on low for about 10-15 minutes until all vegetables are soft and well cooked.  Stir frequently so the vegetables don’t stick to the pan.

7)  Add salt and pepper to taste.

Once you get all the chopping done, the rest of the recipe is easy.  It’s also delicious and kid-friendly.  My children are very picky and they love picadillo.  When I made this meal, it fed us, a family of 4, for 3 nights.  You can also freeze any leftovers for an easy meal after a hard day at work. That is not an option for me because I have a TINY freezer.

Pura Vida!

About Noemi Gamel

Noemi Gamel is a physician who prefers writing diverse children's fantasy stories instead of medical charts. She is a geeky nomad, too.
This entry was posted in Foodie Stuff, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Costa Rican Picadillo: Taking advantage of the bounty from the Feria de Agricultor

  1. Pingback: Why do kids love Costa Rica cuisine? | Pura Vida Familia

  2. Pingback: 4 Ways to Simplify Your Body | Pura Vida Familia

Leave a Reply

