Running in Monteverde

As I have indicated in earlier posts, I love to run.  I run because it is cheaper than therapy, healthier than happy hour, and it is the closest thing I have to a religion.  At the risk of sounding vain and superficial, I run to look good too.  Moving to Costa Rica has not stopped my running.  Although my weekly mileage has decreased, I have grown more enamored with running here in Monteverde.  How could I not?  These are the amazing views as I run from my house up to the Monteverde Biological Reserve.

View of the cloudforest from the main road headed to Monteverde

View of the cloudforest from the main road headed to Monteverde

The "center" of Monteverde. I pass by here every time I go for a run.

The “center” of Monteverde. I pass by here every time I go for a run.

I love running over the babbling brooks. The sound of running water sure beats the sound of catcalls and traffic.

I love running over the babbling brooks. The sound of running water sure beats the sound of catcalls and traffic.

View from the Children's Eternal Rain Forest Information Center at the entrance of Monteverde "proper".

View from the Children’s Eternal Rain Forest Information Center at the entrance of Monteverde “proper”.

Running culture is strong in Monteverde.  I come across many runners of all ages on the trail.  Since it is a tiny community, even after living here for only 2 months I now recognize many of my fellow runners.  I was at the Monteverde Butterfly Garden’s “Young Naturalists” club with the kids one day, and I recognized one of the mothers as one of the runners I often encounter.  Running is the best ice breaker!

There are two races in Monteverde: Carrera del Bosque Nuboso (CBN) and the Moon Run.  I got here too late for the CBN, but I will definitely be participating in the Moon Run.  I am nervous about that one because it is a night trail run.  I did a 10K version of that a few years ago in San Antonio called the “Chupacabra de la Noche”, but at least that was on flat ground.  The Moon Run is up the mountain in the rain forest!  It should be fun!

Monteverde is very safe.  I usually head out between 5:30 and 6:30 am for my runs.  By then it is fully light outside and there are many walking commuters and runners on the road.  I have never had a problem running by myself that early in the morning.

So if you are visiting the Monteverde area and you brought your running shoes, run along the main road up to either the Lecheria (~2 miles from Santa Elena) or the Monteverde Biological Reserve (~4.5 miles from Santa Elena).  The vistas are amazing!  The air is refreshing!  You will wonder how you ever ran anywhere else.

Pura Vida!

About Noemi Gamel

Noemi Gamel is a physician who prefers writing diverse children's fantasy stories instead of medical charts. She is a geeky nomad, too.
This entry was posted in Healthy Living and Fitness, Living in Monteverde/Santa Elena, Running and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Running in Monteverde

  1. RunKateRun says:

    You’re so lucky, beautiful scenery makes running so much more interesting right?

  2. Pingback: Why Do You Run? | Pura Vida Familia

  3. Pingback: Reflecting on this week: Financing Your Move Abroad | Pura Vida Familia

  4. Pingback: What Does the Expat Need to Do to Ease the Transition? | Pura Vida Familia

  5. Pingback: 4 Ways to Simplify Your Body | Pura Vida Familia

  6. Pingback: 5 Blessings of Going From Breadwinner to Stay-At-Home Mom in Costa Rica | Pura Vida Familia

Leave a Reply

