Back to School Woes

Kara and Tristan start school at Centro de Educacion Creativa on Tuesday.  Today we spent a few hours at the school helping some of the teachers prepare their classroom.  On Monday we will have an orientation and get our school supply list.  They are both excited to start at their new school.  I, on the other hand, feel rather sad.  For the last 2 months we have spent every single day together. I feel like most SAHMs probably feel when summer vacation is over.

The end of summer used to not mean much to me.  In my former life, I worked so much that whether my kids were at home or in school, I did not get a lot of time with them.   This summer was so different.  I got to be a mom!  I will miss eating lunch with them every day.  I will miss our hikes through some of our favorite haunts in Monteverde, like Bajo del Tigre, the Butterfly Garden, and Hidden Vallley Trail. I will miss watching them play in their forts and bug hotels while I read on the porch.

This year is different because my daily life will be so much different once school starts.  I know I won’t be bored.  I have multiple projects going on that will fill my day.  But I will miss them.  I know they will have a great time at the school.  They will make new friends.  I will get over my sadness.  But it still sucks.

How do other moms get through this?

Pura Vida!

About Noemi Gamel

Noemi Gamel is a physician who prefers writing diverse children's fantasy stories instead of medical charts. She is a geeky nomad, too.
This entry was posted in Family Life, Parenting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Back to School Woes

  1. Roxy says:

    Hi Noemi,

    My husband and myself went on safari to Africa with your husband and Andy Biggs. Today a friend asked me about a vacation to Costa Rica ( we went in 2010) he want a hacienda for his family group ( 12-14 people) Tomorrow I will be seeing him and find out what would fit their family needs and desires. Do you have any leads that you could share with me. I’ll give you an update after I talk to Duane.

    I truly love Costa Rica and I’m living vicariously thru your blog! ;-]

    Roxanna Quirino Roxylq@gmail.com

    Sent from my iPad

    • Noemi Gamel says:

      Roxanna,

      What a small world! I am glad you found us! Chris actually ended up leading a couple of tours for Andy in Tanzania and he misses it! However, we are all having a blast in Costa Rica! I have found some great houses for rent (all sizes) through http://www.vrbo.com. We have rented through them in the USA, Costa Rica, and Nicaragua. So that is a good place for your friend to start with. Hope this helps and let me know if you have any other questions, especially once you know where in Costa Rica they will be.

      Thanks for reading!
      Noemi

  2. Abi says:

    I just had a GNO last week and I was venting about summer break, I never put my kids in any sort of summer school or camp…other than swim,tball, etc that I stay & watch. I feel that summer should be about some quality fun together. It’s always a great idea in may, buy come August, I’m ready for a summer break (from my kids). Even if they just went to “school” 6 hrs a week…don’t judge me! But of course, I’ll be in tears when school starts too!

  3. Abi says:

    Nope, one more year at home, love the September birthdays! Btw, forgot to tell you we saw Jessica, Lisa Scott & kids at children’s museum…they were “camping” on the river & stopped by museum. I say “camping” because it was in their 35′ RV, I’m just jealous!

Leave a Reply

