Our House in Costa Rica

One of my main sources of anxiety about our move to Costa Rica was where we would live.  We had filled out a housing questionnaire from Creativa, the children’s school, regarding our budget and preferences.  Because of the way the market works in Costa Rica, we had not heard anything regarding housing even one month before our departure.  Rentals come and go quickly, so it is difficult to “reserve” a house before you arrive.  So we decided to wing it.  We rented a cabin at Los Pinos for the first week and figured we would find a house after we moved.  I am a meticulous planner, so this was an out of step move for me.  Whenever people asked me where we would live in Costa Rica, I would calmly reply, “I don’t know.  We will find a place when we get there.”  And then I would try not to throw up.  In the end, I am glad we did it this way.

The day after we moved to Monteverde, a liason from the school took us to 4 homes that were available for rent.  After much soul searching, we settled on our current home.  We were able to move into the house within a week after moving to Monteverde.

We love the house!  It is large for Costa Rica standards with 4 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. The kitchen is well-equipped and perfectly sized for us.  The living/dining area is nice and cozy and also functions as a work area.  The house also has a wonderful laundry room and the best porch ever!

This is the view of the house as you drive up to it.

This is the view of the house as you drive up to it.

I spend a lot of time in the kitchen. I was scared of it at first, but now I love it.

I spend a lot of time in the kitchen. I was scared of the gas stove at first, but now I love it.

The master bedroom has its own bath. Don't judge me. I never make my bed.

The master bedroom has its own bath. Don’t judge me. I never make my bed.

The layout is very efficient. There is a hallway off the living/dining area that leads to the bedrooms and bathrooms.

The layout is very efficient. There is a hallway off the living/dining area that leads to the bedrooms and bathrooms.

The house has an open feel and lots of windows. I feel I am outside even when I am indoors.

The house has an open feel and lots of windows. I feel I am outside even when I am indoors.

The best feature of the house is the front porch and the big yard. The kids enjoy playing here!

The best feature of the house is the front porch and the big yard. The kids enjoy playing here!

Did I mention we love the front porch?

Did I mention we love the front porch?

The house has a practical laundry room. The first night we moved her we found out why the laundry room has a step down. The washing machine pipe came lose and flooded the laundry room.

The house has a practical laundry room. The first night we moved here we found out why the laundry room has a step down. The washing machine pipe came lose and flooded it.  Fortunately, the water did not enter the rest of the house.

The location is perfect!  We live about a 10 minute walk to the center of Santa Elena, 15 minute walk to the school (which would be shorter if it were not for the steep hill!), and about a 30 minute walk to the Fabrica de Quesos and Monteverde proper.  We also have amazing views off the front porch.

Sometimes we have to interrupt dinner for these "sunset alerts".

Sometimes we have to interrupt dinner for these “sunset alerts”.

This is the view I wake up to every morning. Pinch me to make sure I am not dreaming!

This is the view I wake up to every morning. Pinch me to make sure I am not dreaming!

As much as I loved our house in the US and it hurt to sell it, I really prefer living in this cozy little house.  We interact as a family more often, and I keep better track of what the kids are up to.

Living in a smaller house means we are spending more quality time together as a family.......

Living in a smaller house means we are spending more quality time together as a family…….

Expat Tip:  As frightening as it sounds, I encourage anyone moving to the Monteverde area to hold off on renting a house until after you get here.  Stay at an inexpensive hotel or hostel and take a week to figure out if you would rather live in Santa Elena, Cerro Plano (large neighborhood in between Santa Elena and Monteverde), or Monteverde proper.  This way you also get to talk to the landlord face to face and see the house in real time as opposed to pictures, which can be deceiving.

Pura Vida!

About Noemi Gamel

Noemi Gamel is a physician who prefers writing diverse children's fantasy stories instead of medical charts. She is a geeky nomad, too.
This entry was posted in Becoming an Expat, Family Life, Living in Costa Rica, Living in Monteverde/Santa Elena, Redesigning Your Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Our House in Costa Rica

  1. Pingback: Calculating Our New Carbon Footprint | Pura Vida Familia

  2. Pingback: Selling Our Home Before Our Move Abroad | Pura Vida Familia

  3. Pingback: The Effect of Purging Our “Stuff” on My Life, Wallet, Soul, and Planet | Pura Vida Familia

  4. Pingback: Redesigning Your Finances to Move Abroad: Others have done it, you can too! | Pura Vida Familia

  5. Pingback: What Does the Expat Need to Know Before Moving Abroad? | Pura Vida Familia

  6. Pingback: What Do I Do With My Pets? | Pura Vida Familia

  7. Pingback: What Does Pura Vida Mean? | Pura Vida Familia

  8. Pingback: Simplifying in Costa Rica: Smaller House | Pura Vida Familia

Leave a Reply

