What I Have Learned from Shopping at the Farmer’s Market

When I first went to the Feria de Agricultor, or farmer’s market in Monteverde, I noticed some small, red fruits covered in a shell of tiny tentacles.  They looked like something brought back from Mars!  I did not know what they were and was too scared to find out.  About a month after moving here, I saw someone at an event with a bag full of these little things.  I asked her what they were, and she said they were…..lychees!   Sure enough, she cracked open a fruit and inside was a beautiful, pale, transparent lychee.  The kids actually liked them.

The next time I went to the Feria I bought a bag full of lychees.  They are easy to pack in the kids’ lunches or to set out in front of a group of hungry kids during a feisty game of Dungeons and Dragons.  I can also pack them on a hike, which is great because they are transportable, don’t require washing, are easy to peel, and don’t make a big mess. I am so glad I tried them out.

Shopping at the Feria has taught me to try new things.  Sometimes, the one thing that looks ugly and scary, turns out to be hiding a gem inside.  This lesson applies to life in general, not just shopping for produce at la Feria.  Don’t judge someone or something by its a appearance.  Give it a chance before you pass on it and lose out on something wonderful.

Almost all of the produce, bread, and dairy that we consume is locally made.

The lychees are the red fruits in front of the carrots and avocados.

About Noemi Gamel

Noemi Gamel is a physician who prefers writing diverse children's fantasy stories instead of medical charts. She is a geeky nomad, too.
This entry was posted in A Lesson Worth Learning, Foodie Stuff and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What I Have Learned from Shopping at the Farmer’s Market

  1. Beautiful blog!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

