What Do You Eat in Costa Rica?

One of the questions I am often asked by friends and family is what we eat in Costa Rica.  Last week, I blogged about where I shop for food.  This week, I will focus on how I put everything from the Feria, CSA, and grocery store together to make our meals.

Most of our meals are simple.  Fruits and veggies make up the bulk of our meals, anchored by rice, bread, or pasta.  Chris does not like beans, so we don’t eat them as often as I would like they way our Tico and expat friends do.  Below is a sample menu of our meals for one week.

21OctSampleMenu

I make one big meal weekly for Monday night that will last us for 2-3 nights, such as picadillo with steamed rice, Arroz con vegetales, or a Pasta dish.  We eat a lot of repeat meals.  I know it may seem boring, but I do it to make the most of the local produce and staples available.  With the veggies from the CSA, I usually steam/puree the greens into brownies or use them to make pesto for pasta nights.  I use the cilantro to flavor our beans.  Chris and the kids have not complained about lack of variety.  Also, eating the same simple meals actually helps keep your overall calorie intake down as you are less likely to overeat.

Pura Vida!

About Noemi Gamel

Noemi Gamel is a physician who prefers writing diverse children's fantasy stories instead of medical charts. She is a geeky nomad, too.
This entry was posted in A Question Worth Answering, Foodie Stuff, Living in Costa Rica and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What Do You Eat in Costa Rica?

  1. Pingback: 4 Ways to Simplify Your Body | Pura Vida Familia

  2. Pingback: 5 Blessings of Going From Breadwinner to Stay-At-Home Mom in Costa Rica | Pura Vida Familia

Leave a Reply

