Reflections on Simplifying in Costa Rica: I can live without these

As I reflect on ways we have simplified our lives since moving to Costa Rica, I amazed by how many things we live without that I previously thought were absolutely essential.  This is a partial list of things I used to have in the US, but I don’t have here.  And my life feels complete without them.

  • Car
  • Garbage disposal
  • Water softner
  • Sprinkler system
  • Electric mixer
  • Stand-up mixer
  • Large fridge with water and ice dispenser
  • Dish washer
  • Flat-screen TV
  • DVD player
  • CD player
  • Garden tub
  • Air conditioning/Heater (though our climate is conducive to this)
  • Printer
  • Scanner
  • Fax machine
  • Ironing board
  • Electric griddle
  • Variety of kitchen gadgets such as a mandolin slicer, onion chopper, salad spinner etc

This week, I have primarily focused on how we have simplified our possessions.  Next week, I will blog about the ways we have simplified other aspects of our life such as our time, goals, emotions, and bodies.  Hopefully my experiences will help you simplify your life also.

What gadgets have you been able to live without after moving abroad or simplifying your life?  Let me know in the comments below.

 

Pura Vida!

About Noemi Gamel

Noemi Gamel is a physician who prefers writing diverse children's fantasy stories instead of medical charts. She is a geeky nomad, too.
This entry was posted in Redesigning Your Life, Reflections, Simplifying and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Reflections on Simplifying in Costa Rica: I can live without these

  1. Karolyn Cooper says:

    Interesting series of posts about simplifying things. I am intrigued by the ironing board on your list. I have an ironing board at home in London, but I don’t need one here in India because I send my clothes out to be ironed by a man who runs an ironing service. Do you have similar services in Costa Rica?

    • Noemi Gamel says:

      Karolyn,

      There is no formal ironing service in Monteverde, though you can easily hire someone to do it for you. I dont iron very often, as dress in Monteverde is very casual. When I do iron, I use the bed or the dresser as an ironing board, I just place a sheet over it.

      Thanks for reading. Pura Vida!

      Noemi

  2. Yvette says:

    Living here I don’t have the following:
    My own car, my husband and I share a car. Garbage disposal, (organic compost does the trick for most things) water softener, sprinkler system, ice dispenser, dish washer, flat screen T.V, we still have the old bulky television. Air condition and heater are not necessary where we live, it’s pretty comfortable year round. I do miss Rite Aid though and my favorite Mexican restaurants in California!
    Oh, I can’t find enchilada sauce in the grocery store.

  3. Pingback: 7 Ways to Simplify Your Time | Pura Vida Familia

  4. Pingback: 7 Ways to Teach Your Kids to Be Grateful | Pura Vida Familia

  5. Pingback: 4 Good Reasons to Move to Costa Rica | Pura Vida Familia

Leave a Reply

