Happy Thanksgiving from Costa Rica! I Am Thankful For……

As I mentioned in an earlier post, for the first time in my adult life I will not be celebrating Thanksgiving this year with my parents, sisters, brothers-in-law, nieces, and nephews.  In fact, since Chris is in Antarctica, it’s just the kids and I.  We have something very special planned for the weekend, which will hopefully get our mind off the fact we are not with Chris, Papa, Pita, the tias, and the primos.  We have created so many wonderful Thanksgiving memories and traditions over the years.  I have no regrets about our move to Costa Rica, but I am still sad about missing Thanksgiving with my extended family.

Like many families, one of our Thanksgiving traditions, besides eating to the point of a coma, is to go around the table sharing what we are grateful for that year.  This year, I will be participating in that tradition virtually!

I am thankful for…

…being able to take a year off from work so I can spend more time with my children and husband and reconnect with them…

Though we were dirty, hot, and gross from all the bug spray and and sunscreen, we were truly happy on this trip.

Though we were dirty, hot, and gross from all the bug spray and and sunscreen, we were truly happy on this trip.

…the opportunity to live in Monteverde, Costa Rica, where I enjoy beautiful weather, a wonderful view, weekly hikes in one of the most biodiverse ecosystems in the world, and have met wonderful friends….

A hike in the cloud forest with friends.....Pura Vida!

A hike in the cloud forest with friends…..Pura Vida!

…living in a world where technology makes it easy to stay connected with my family back in the USA…

…the blessing of simplifying my life so I can appreciate the little things like being able to sip a delicious mochaccino at Cafe Orquid, going on a hike in the middle of the week, and blogging my experiences to share with the world…

http://www.chrisgamel.com

Photo credit: Chris Gamel Photography

What are you thankful for this year?  Let me know in the comments below.

Pura Vida!

About Noemi Gamel

Noemi Gamel is a physician who prefers writing diverse children's fantasy stories instead of medical charts. She is a geeky nomad, too.
This entry was posted in Family Life, Simplifying and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy Thanksgiving from Costa Rica! I Am Thankful For……

  1. I am thankful for a Thanksgiving in America!

    My first Thanksgiving in Costa Rica was more like a turkey-themed Pool Party. (It was seriously poolside.) Having palm trees for christmas trees was fun for a few years, but this year, I am really grateful to be having the holidays back at home with family. In the cold, cold weather.

Leave a Reply

