Reflections on Being a SAHM vs Corporate Mom: Is There a Happy Middle?

Last week, as the kids and I were walking to the Monteverde Library, which is about a 45 minute walk from our house, Tristan, my 7 year-old boy, and I had a good little chat.  It went like this:

Tristan:  “Mom, what do you do for a job?”

Me:  “Well, right now my job is to be your mom.  I don’t have a job besides that.”

Tristan:  “So what do you do on the computer all the time?”

Me:  “I am working on a blog to share our experiences in Costa Rica with friends and family.  And I am starting a business on the internet to help people adjust to moving to another country and live healthy in another country.”

Tristan:  “Can you do that job on the computer at home?”

Me: “I hope so.”

Tristan:  “Are you going to be a doctor again?”

Me:  “Right now, I am not sure.  It depends on a lot of things.”

Tristan:  “Please don’t be a doctor again.  I just want you to work on the computer at home.”

This conversation hit me because Tristan is not the type of kid to express his thoughts readily.  I was touched by his honesty, but I also did not want to lie to him.

Me:  “I cannot promise you that I won’t ever go back to work outside the home.  But you know what?  I am going to try very hard to have a job I can do from home.”

As I reflect on what it means to be a SAHM, I have found that there is a happy medium to the SAHM vs corporate mom-debate:  The Work-At-Home-Mom (WAHM).  Once kids are in school and the physically intensive phase of parenting is over, many SAHMs work to some extent from home, either writing/blogging, freelancing,  telecommuting, or selling Scentsy or Mary Kay or some other product.  Others immerse themselves in charity or volunteer work.

Being a WAHM allows for income generation and can function as an outlet for intellectual stimulation and networking with actual grown-ups.  This arrangement also allows for a flexible schedule to spend time with the kids and attend to the family.   Instead of worrying that I have committed career suicide by becoming a SAHM, I am seeing it as an open door to finding a more flexible, family-friendly career opportunity.   I have no regrets about my decision to put my career as an academic physician on hold.  If in the end, I go back to practicing medicine, I will be happy that I had at least one glorious year focused on motherhood.

Do you think being a WAHM is a happy medium between being a SAHM or corporate mom?  If you are a WAHM or WAHD, what has been your experience?   Let me know in the comments below.

Pura Vida!

About Noemi Gamel

Noemi Gamel is a physician who prefers writing diverse children's fantasy stories instead of medical charts. She is a geeky nomad, too.
This entry was posted in A Question Worth Answering, Career-Life Balance, Family Life, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Reflections on Being a SAHM vs Corporate Mom: Is There a Happy Middle?

  1. Pingback: OMG..HAS IT BEEN 1 WEEK? | Network Marketing Mummy

Leave a Reply

